RSS

Man loses R10 000 trying to win Lotto

09 Sep

This Flats man says he was conned out of more than R10 000 by a bogus traditional healer.

The 37-year-old father of one, who didn’t want to be named, says he visited the traditional healer out of desperation after losing his job this year.

“I lost my job and because I had no income I also lost my house,” he explains. “I always saw the ads in the paper, then one day I saw a pamphlet saying that the Doc [as the healer is known] can help one win the lottery. I was desperate so I called.”

Days later, the Mitchell’s Plain man made his first appointment to meet with the herbalist in Kenilworth where he made a down payment of R350 and told him what his problem was.

“I had to come back a second time when I had to choose my numbers,” he recalls. “We spoke inside a dark room. It was just me and him inside the room, he’d then call upon the ancestors and that’s when I heard voices.

“They said ‘hello my son’ and I said ‘hello’ back. They asked me how I was doing and I told them what I’m there for – when it was all over the traditional healer said it was fine and the ancestors would sort it out for me.”

Instead, he was disappointed the next day when he didn’t win the lottery.

“I went back and told him that I didn’t win anything, then he told me that the ancestors didn’t want me to play the Lotto but that they had something bigger in store for me,” he says.

“He said my forefathers had left me a fortune worth R1.5 million and that they want me to have that.”

The man says the healer then produced a huge dusty case.

“Inside it had lots of R100 notes – he even allowed me to touch it,” he says.

“Then, as he turned off the lights… the ancestors spoke to me, this time they said I must make an offering of two cows but I told them I didn’t have the money to buy cows but I could sell my car.”

He then sold his car for R10 000.

“I had to leave the money with Doc as my offering,” he says.

The man says he was also conned into opening three bank accounts.

“I had to open the accounts and they told me to deposit R20 000 in each one. I told them I don’t have that kind of money so they said I should buy six spotless black chickens which cost R145 each,” he says.

“At this stage I became gatvol (fed-up) and told them that I can’t do that.”

Since then he says he’s been “living like a beggar”.

“I’ve lost everything and he just doesn’t respond to my calls or messages – I don’t know how I’m going to get my money back from him,” he complains.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 9, 2011 in Corruption

 

One response to “Man loses R10 000 trying to win Lotto

  1. sell my car for cash

    September 30, 2011 at 12:39 PM

    Some nice information, would you allow me to use some of your posts on a school project? I am based in the United Kingdom I am doing a project and have gained sponsorship by a couple of businesses and I have collated lots of great articles which you could possibly use on your site in swap?

     

Leave a Reply

 
